web analytics
Sydney Philharmonia Choirs | 100 Minutes of New Australian Music

100 Minutes of New Australian Music

For our Centenary season in 2020 we commissioned 100 minutes of new Australian music – proudly promoting and energising choral music in Australia and overseas. The commissions draw on many different cultural experiences of music and performance and they showcase the uniquely Australian contribution to this art form.

The composers selected represent the diversity of the Australian population. In particular, the works by Indigenous Australian composers will demonstrate innovative and unusual choral music compositions and unique performance experiences as well as exposing audiences to music from Australia’s First Nations people.

Significantly, one of the major works we have commissioned will be composed by Brett Dean, the pre-eminent Australian composer of his generation, and has the backing of major arts companies across Europe, including the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and Chorus in the UK and the Orchestre National de Lyon.

A number of these works will appear in the 2022 season.

Brooke Shelley
Joseph Twist
Deborah Cheetham
James Henry
Elena Kats-Chernin
Nardi Simpson
Andrew Anderson
Maria Lopes
Daniel Brinsmead
Brett Dean
Matthew Orlovich
Will Yaxley

100 Minutes of New Australian Music Supporters

Louise Bain
Sheena Boughen
John Cunningham AM
June Cunningham
Ian Davies
Erna De Vries
Phillipa Duflou
In memory of Rinaldo U Fabbro
Professor Jenny Edwards
Jenny and Denys Gillespie
Robert Green
Vesna Hatezic
Sarah and David Howell
Debra Langford
Penny Le Couteur
Lynne McEachern
Jolanta Masojada
Margaret Millard
Bernadette Mitchell
Louise Nicholas
Anna Pender
Ian and Christine Pendleton
Beverley Price
Georgia Rivers
Peter Roberts
Regula Scheidegger
Martin Stebbings
Virginia Tame
Jannie Van Deventer
Kay Vernon
Sara Watts
Jacqui Wilkins
Amanda Wilson
Anon x 3